San Saba County
The property boasts 6,662 Feet of Cherokee Creek Frontage. Approximately 1.5 miles. A gorgeous dam backs up crystal clear waters on this year-round live water creek. There are multiple deep swimming holes on the creek. The property has two homes with multiple outbuildings. The first is 1507 square feet and has a detached garage and 520 square foot detached living space built in 1920. There is also a 1280 square foot metal barn and a 900 square foot wood and metal barn near this homesite. The second home is 2184 square feet and is currently occupied by the owner and was built in 1948. There is also a large barn that is 3025 Square feet. In addition, there are two sheds and a cattle pen near this homesite. Both homesites have their own well and septic. The property is fenced and cross fenced and has cattle pens. Deep alluvial soils help to provide productive hay fields. It features three Tifton 85 hay fields North Field is 24 Acres, South is 28 acres and East is 42 acres. There are 4 stock tanks on the property as well. Abundant wildlife is present including a large herd of White Tail deer, a free ranging Axis herd and Hogs have been observed. Turkey, Ducks, Dove and Quail are also present. There is not currently any hunting lease on the property and hunting pressure has been low. The property is gently sloping in the heart of Cherokee Valley down to Cherokee Creek. The creek itself has several amazing fishing holes.
The property has a deep rich history steeped in Texas Lore. One of the main observable features is the remains of an old grist mill that was built in or around 1866 and operated well into the twentieth century. The remains of the old grist mill dam, canal and foundation of grist mill are still present.
According to Cherokee Creek County “A History” by Goldie Smith Conley
Early in the development of the area settlements were spread out along the creek. There was a settlement on the property. It contained a school, grocery store, drug store and the grist mill. The grist mill is reported to have been built by Jim Sadler. A man named William O’Handshy was appointed postmaster in 1871 and also ran a store. It was near the mill and store that three men were in a brawl over the out-come of a horserace in 1873. Also, nearby is where the remains of a log cabin can bee seen that was built in 1857. It was unable to be restored and is little more than a ruin today. Also contained on the property is a deep pool that was used by nearby churches for Baptisms and was commonly referred to as the “Baptizing Hole”. In the summer time it was a popular spot to cool off in the Texas heat by locals.